The Western Climate Initiative (WCI)

 The Western Climate Initiative is a greenhouse reduction program initiated by the Governors of 5 states, but now including over (in orange).

The model rule was completed in 2006, and the program is currently in the definition stage.



          January 10, 2008 - Subcommittees described Major Options under consideration (

         March 2008 – Subcommittees to post recommendations on key elements of regional cap-and-trade program

         May 2008 – Final draft recommendations and economic analysis released

         July 2008 - Draft design of regional cap-and-trade program

Late July, 2008 – Stakeholder meeting to discuss draft design

         August 2008 - Partners release design recommendations for a regional cap-and-trade program


  • Launched February 2007
  • Regional Goal reached August 2007
  • Aggregate emission reduction of 15% below 2005 levels by 2020 (some participants already have more aggressive goals)
  • 5 Governors participated
  • Work plan released in October 2007
  • Stakeholder feedback in November 2007


Environmental Responsibility 
             for a Greener Future

Arizona, British Columbia, California, Manitoba, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington

Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Wyoming